The Scientific Council of JINR approved the Jury’s recommendations on the award of the B. Pontecorvo Prize to Professor G. Bellini (INFN and University of Milan, Italy) for his outstanding contributions to the development of
low-energy neutrino detection methods, their realization in the Borexino detector, and the important solar and geo-neutrino results obtained in this experiment.
Gianpaolo Bellini fisico Borexino 611x700

The Jury of the Prize includes distinguished physicists: Samoil Bilenky (JINR), Luciano Maiani (INFN, Italy), Arthur McDonald (SNO, Canada), Alexander Olshevskiy (chair, JINR), Yoichiro Suzuki (Japan).

This is recognition of joined efforts of all the Borexino collaboration members. Group of physicists from Dubna provided noticeable contribution to the experiment, participating in its construction and contributing to the data analysis.